Conflicts happen when a file or directory has been modified both on server and client. At the initial sync, Filecloud will build up an archive. This is basically an index of your Vault, containing a unique fingerprint of each file, and its properties.
This happens on both client and server side. The archive is updated at every sync. At the start of every sync, during the “Looking for changes” status, Filecloud will compare each file to the fingerprint that is in the archives. Based on that, we can detect whether the file has been changed, deleted, added.
1. File Conflict
During file synchronization a file conflict occurs when a file has changed in both locations (source and target) since the last sync, making it difficult to determine which version should be left unchanged and which version should be updated. For example, if you’ve changed a document on your desktop computer since the last synchronization and also made a different change to the same document on your laptop, a file conflict will occur.
2. Folder Conflict
A directory conflict is always a conflict where a directory has been deleted on one end, and changed on the other end. This change can be one of the following (or a combination):
New file added
File Properties changed
How Filecloud handles conflicts:
The nature of our service (i.e., off-line availability of data) does not allow for actual “file locking”. Thus, when a conflict arises, the Filecloud software will pop-up a conflict resolution window to help the user to decide upon the most suited resolution: create a new version, overwrite my/her/his version, etc. In any event, “conflicts” never pass unnoticed.